1783 SAMUEL SPRING. One of the First Children's Religious Books Published in America!
1783 SAMUEL SPRING. One of the First Children's Religious Books Published in America!
1783 SAMUEL SPRING. One of the First Children's Religious Books Published in America!
1783 SAMUEL SPRING. One of the First Children's Religious Books Published in America!

1783 SAMUEL SPRING. One of the First Children's Religious Books Published in America!

Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
$250.00

A wonderful and very early piece of children's religious Americana and one of the earliest illustrated American works as well.

The American Antiquarian Society's Exhibition of Children's Books before 1800 records only 8 titles issued previous to the present offering. Additionally, in a 1957 article on early Children's books in the United States, it is listed alongside the New England Primer [issued just 6 years previous], The Token for Children by Janeway, as among the most "intriguing" early American children's books. 

Spring writes in the tradition of Jonathan Edwards and Samuel Hopkins as an experimental evangelical of the revivalist school. 

Spring, Samuel. Three Sermons to Little Children. On the Nature and Beauty of the Dutiful Temper. Published by Desire. Boston. Printed and Sold by Nathaniel Coverly. Opposite the White-Horse Tavern. 1783. 72pp.

Housed in dog-eared wraps, then beginning with the title, and textually complete through page 68, pages 69 and 70 with losses at bottom of leaf, and final leaf absent. Otherwise textually very crisp with two attractive and very early American woodcuts. Not pristine, but a rare survivor at a very affordable price.